Cheapest Car Insurance In Tn

Cheapest Tennessee Car Insurance For High

Cheap Car Insurance in Tennessee

People who have a DUI, speeding ticket or recent accident can expect to pay more for car insurance than other drivers. Below are some estimated car insurance costs for people who fall under those categories.

Cheapest Tennessee Car Insurance for Drivers With a Speeding Ticket

Safe driving goes a long way when youre trying to keep the cost of car insurance low. Drivers with a speeding ticket on their record pay an average of $1,468 per year for car insurance in Tennessee.

Cheapest Car Insurance in Tennessee Estimated Monthly Cost

Cheapest Tennessee Car Insurance for Drivers With a Recent Accident

You can expect your car insurance costs to increase if youve been in a recent accident. On average, Tennessee drivers with an accident on their record pay $1,783 per year for coverage.

Cheapest Car Insurance in Tennessee Estimated Monthly Cost

Cheapest Tennessee Car Insurance for Drivers With a DUI

Having a DUI conviction on your driving record can cause your car insurance rates to skyrocket. Tennessee drivers with a DUI pay about $1,894 per year for coverage on average.

Cheapest Car Insurance in Tennessee Estimated Monthly Cost

Cheapest Tennessee Car Insurance for Drivers With Poor Credit

Drivers with poor credit scores pay some of the highest car insurance premiums in the state of Tennessee. On average, those with bad credit pay about $2,496 per year.

Cheapest Car Insurance in Tennessee Estimated Monthly Cost

What Determines Your Auto Insurance Premiums

  • The age of your vehicle
  • The make and model
  • The zip code you live in
  • Whether youâre single or married
  • Your past driving history

Despite laws prohibiting discrimination on the basis of gender, race, or credit history, there is clear statistical bias when determining insurance prices in these categories.

Tennessee’s Rules On Electronic Proof Of Insurance

If you are stopped by the police and asked to show proof of insurance, you may wonder if you need to find a paper copy of your insurance card, or if you can use an electronic version. In Tennessee, you are allowed to show an electronic copy of your insurance card on your mobile device.

You can use the Allstate Mobile App for iPhone® and Android® to access a digital ID card.

Read Also: K And R Auto Sales

Cheap Car Insurance For Drivers With Prior Incidents

The cost of car insurance in Tennessee is typically more expensive for drivers without a clean driving record. Insurers see incidents like at-fault accidents, traffic violations and DUIs as signs of a risky driver, which typically results in a price increase.

*USAA is only available to current and former military members and their families.

Average rates in Tennessee increase by 40% after an at-fault accident. However, insurance companies take different approaches to an at-fault accident, which may include whether you have accident forgiveness or not.

For instance, Farmers might not raise rates at all: the company quoted the same annual rate of $1,644 both before and after an at-fault accident. In contrast, Geico raised rates by 75% after an at-fault accident, from $1,330 a year to $2,326.

The wide range in cost between insurance companies highlights the importance of shopping around to find the best rates, especially after your driving record has changed.

Whats The Cheapest Car Insurance After A Dui In Tennessee

Tennessee Car Insurance Cost for 2021

Insurance companies in Tennessee have joined the state in taking a strong line against drunk driving.

Its not just the law you need to be worried about here. If youâre convicted of a YOUâRE YOUR insurance premiums WILL go up .

Due to their status as high-risk drivers, those with a DUI conviction are unlikely to find what most people would consider âaffordableâ insurance. However, by comparing options you might discover an insurance policy that still falls within your budget.

Insurance Navy works with several leading insurers to help find you the most affordable policy possible.

Don’t Miss: Best Auto Loan Rates San Diego

State Farm: Most Popular Provider

J.D. Power regional rating: 859/1,000AM Best financial strength rating: A++BBB rating: A+

State Farm has been offering quality insurance products since 1922. Its the largest auto insurance company in the U.S., and it can be a strong coverage option for Tennessee drivers in particular. State Farm offers low average rates across the board, especially for teen drivers and high-risk drivers in Tennessee.

Tennessee Auto Insurance Information

Under Tennessee law, a motorist must carry a minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in Bodily Injury Liability insurance, which helps pay medical or death expenses for the other driver when the insured is at fault. Each motorist must also purchase at least $15,000 in Property Damage Liability insurance, which helps cover repairs to the other motor vehicle when the insured is responsible for the accident. Neither BIL or PDL insurance covers the insureds expenses, whether medical or vehicle-related.

Keep in mind that these are the state minimums, and it is smart to buy additional coverage. If BIL or PDL insurance is inadequate to cover damages, the insureds personal assets are at risk in a lawsuit.

Tennessee does not require drivers to purchase uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage, which protects the insured if they get into an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver. This coverage can help pay for accident-related medical expenses, so it is another wise purchase.

While collision and comprehensive insurance are not required by the state if a vehicle is leased or financed the lender almost certainly requires such coverage.

Also Check: Promo Code For Safelight Auto Glass

Who Has The Cheapest Car Insurance In Tennessee

Geico offers the cheapest car insurance rates in Tennessee for a full coverage policy with an average premium of $81 per month or around $968 per year, based on’s rate analysis.

A full coverage policy includes liability insurance, which is required by law in most states, and optional coverage such as comprehensive and collision insurance, which typically have a deductible.

Average Tennessee Insurance Rates After A Violation Or Accident

Cheapest Car Insurance In Tennessee – Great Price And Coverage Best Rates In TN

You will pay about 26 percent more for your Tennessee auto insurance policy with a recent driving violation or claim according to The Zebra. This is less than the average of 32 percent more that drivers with recent claims and violations pay across the United States. If you have no recent violations or claims, you might qualify for a 5 to 10 percent good driver discount.

Money Geek says that drivers with a speeding ticket pay an average of $1233 per year for auto insurance in Tennessee.

Don’t Miss: What Is Auto Collision Insurance

Cheapest Tennessee Auto Insurance Companies For Minimum Liability


*USAA is only available to current and former military members and their families.

Minimum liability policies are the cheapest form of insurance in Tennessee because they provide the lowest level of coverage you can legally carry in the state. Cheap premiums might make minimum-coverage auto insurance seem like the best option, but if you’re involved in an accident, you could end up paying more out of pocket in the long run.

A minimum-coverage policy only covers the other driver’s injuries and property damage. It does not pay for damage to your vehicle or injuries to you and your passengers.

That’s why we recommend most drivers get full-coverage auto insurance quotes rather than a minimum-coverage policy.

Tennessee Auto Insurance Premiums By Driver Age

If you are between 16 and 19 years old, you will pay the highest Tennessee auto insurance rates compared to other age groups. Teens in the state pay about $4741. Drivers ages 20 to 25 also have high rates compared to older drivers.

Value Penguin reports that for full coverage insurance, adolescent drivers pay $6262 on average each year, about 300% the rate of $1875 for an adult motorist.

On average, a 40-year-old man who drives a Toyota Camry and has a good driving history will pay about $1018 for an annual auto insurance policy, compared to about $2367 for a high school or college student and $1055 for a driver older than 60.

Recommended Reading: Value Of My Used Car

Cheap Tennessee Car Insurance For Good Drivers

One way to save on car insurance is to drive safely and not get tickets or cause accidents. Good drivers enjoy the lowest car insurance rates.

State Farm has the cheapest car insurance rates for good drivers in Tennessee, among the companies we analyzed. USAA and Geico also charge good drivers in Tennessee under $1,000 on average, among companies evaluated. Those are all options if youre a good driver and looking for cheap car insurance, but USAA only accepts veterans, military members and their families.

Cheapest companies

Related:Best Car Insurance Companies of 2022

The Average Cost Of Car Insurance In Jackson

Cheapest Insurance In Tn / 2021 Cheap Car Insurance in Tennessee : This ...

The average cost to insure a vehicle in Jackson is $1,564 per year, which is 0.2% less than the U.S. average rate of $1,567. The average cost per month for car insurance in Jackson is $130 for full coverage auto insurance.

Average car insurance cost in Tennessee is $1,206 per year, so drivers in Jackson pay an average of $358 more per year than the Tennessee state-wide average rate.

The average cost of car insurance in Jackson compared to other Tennessee locations is $14 per year more than in Nashville, $120 per year more expensive than in Murfreesboro, and $70 per year more than in Clarksville.

The age of the driver is the factor that has the most impact on the price you pay for car insurance, so the list below details how age impacts cost by showing the difference in average car insurance rates for drivers from 16 to 60.

Jackson, TN, car insurance cost for drivers age 16 to 60

  • 16-year-old driverâ $5,606 per year or $467 per month
  • 17-year-old driverâ $5,232 per year or $436 per month
  • 18-year-old driverâ $4,888 per year or $407 per month
  • 19-year-old driverâ $4,422 per year or $369 per month
  • 20-year-old driverâ $3,106 per year or $259 per month
  • 30-year-old driverâ $1,648 per year or $137 per month
  • 40-year-old driverâ $1,564 per year or $130 per month
  • 50-year-old driverâ $1,424 per year or $119 per month
  • 60-year-old driverâ $1,400 per year or $117 per month
$1,622 $135

Recommended Reading: Why Is My Auto Insurance So High

How Tennessee Drivers Measure Up

While most drivers know that car insurance quotes are determined in part by your personal driving history, many may be unaware that rates are also impacted by the average risk of the drivers around you as well. Check out Insurify’s latest analysis of driving records in Tennessee below:


Drawing from an internal database of over 4 million car insurance applications, the research team at Insurify analyzes patterns in car ownership and driver behavior – including how Tennessee drivers measure up to their fellow motorists across the United States in areas including speeding, DUIs, and more. Insurify Insights publishes data-driven articles, trend analyses, and national rankings each week on all factors related to cars and those who drive them.

Nissan Altima

Most Popular Car in Tennessee


State with the Most Speeding Tickets Rank


State with the Moving Violations Rank


State with the Most DUIs Rank


State with the most Suspended Licenses

  • Accidents in Tennessee

    While car accidents are a sadly unavoidable feature of time spent on the road, rates of accidents do vary from city to city and from state to state. Tennessee is the #10 state in the country for drivers with an at-fault accident on their driving record.

  • Rank among states: #10

Car Insurance Rates By Driver’s Age Group In Murfreesboro

Generally speaking, you pay more in car insurance the younger you are and the older you are. Teens and young adults often pay around $200.71 per month in Murfreesboro. Compare that to drivers in their 30s who typically pay around $79.44 per month drivers in their 40s at $67.32 per month. Its always a good idea to check for discounts that apply at any age. Some discounts include away-at-school discount, safe driver discount, mature driver discount, good student discount as well as multi-policy and bundling discounts.

Age Group

Read Also: Car Rental Boca Raton Fl

Tennessee Car Insurance Requirements

Tennessee law requires drivers to carry liability car insurance in the amounts of 25/50/15. This includes:

  • Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
  • Property damage liability: $15,000 per accident

While only liability insurance is mandated by state minimum coverage requirements, its a good idea to get a full coverage policy that includes collision coverage, comprehensive coverage and underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage to ensure youre protected.

Coverage Designed With You In Mind

Great Rural Towns in Tennessee to Retire or Buy a Home.

Located in the Southeastern United States, Tennessee is bordered by eight states, as well as the Mississippi River. The topography is diversified by the presence of the Appalachian Mountains on the Eastern portion of the state. Tennessee’s largest cities are the state capital of Nashville and Memphis. Agriculture, tourism and manufacturing dominate the Southern state’s economy. It’s had a steady hand shaping music over the years and is home to four professional sports teams football, basketball, hockey and soccer. Interstate 40 crosses the state from east to west, while other portions can be accessed via Interstates 24, 75, 65, 26 and 81.

Finding the right car insurance for you means staying up to date on Tennessee requirements. The table below lists the coverages and minimum coverage limits that are required in Tennessee. Keep in mind, however, that minimum coverage limits are just a starting point. You may want to consider increasing your coverage limits for greater protection.

Read Also: Supersonic Car Wash Salt Lake City

Cheapest Auto Insurance In Tennessee For 60

Drivers with poor credit in Tennessee can look at the following companies with the lowest average rates for full coverage:

  • Tennessee Farm Bureau: $923 per year, or about $77 per month.

  • Grange: $993 per year, or about $83 per month.

  • Nationwide: $1,384 per year, or about $115 per month.

  • Geico: $1,476 per year, or about $123 per month.

  • Travelers: $1,769 per year, or about $147 per month.

  • What Is The Best Car Insurance In Tennessee

    NerdWallet named Liberty Mutual one of the best car insurance companies in 2022.3 Thats because we understand that everyone has individual needs when it comes to their Tennessee auto insurance. Some might want the cheapest Tennessee car insurance, while others want more coverage and an auto insurance company they know they can trust. Let us help you customize your Tennessee car insurance, so you only pay for what you need.

    Also Check: Applying For An Auto Loan

    Cheapest Auto Insurance Companies For Teens In Tennessee


    *USAA is only available to current and former military members and their families.

    The average cost of minimum-coverage car insurance for 18-year-old drivers is $1,933 per year, or $161 per month â over three times more expensive than the cost for 30-year-old drivers. Young drivers are statistically more likely to get into accidents than older drivers, making their insurance rates more expensive.

    We recommend that younger drivers share a policy with a parent or other older driver, which often results in more affordable rates. Good student and driver safety course discounts can also help young drivers reduce their rates.

    Tennessee Car Insurance State Minimums

    Gallatin Insurance
    Coverage type

    Helps cover expenses related to the injury or death of another driver or a pedestrian when an accident is your fault.

    $25,000 limit per person/$50,000 limit per accident

    Helps cover expenses related to the damage of another person’s property like vehicles, homes, buildings and other structures when an accident is your fault.

    $15,000 limit

    Helps cover your medical expenses if you’re in an accident, the other driver is at fault and doesn’t have any insurance.

    Not required

    Helps cover your medical expenses if you’re in an accident, the other driver is at fault and doesn’t have enough liability insurance.

    Not required

    If you and/or your passengers are hurt in an accident, this helps cover medical or funeral expenses.

    Not required

    Helps cover expenses to repair or replace your vehicle that’s been damaged in an accident.

    Not required¹

    Helps cover expenses to repair or replace your vehicle that’s been stolen or damaged by things like storms or vandalism.

    Not required¹

    All coverages are subject to the coverage limits stated in your policy.

    ¹Although Tennessee law does not require drivers to carry this coverage, it may be required by your lender if you are leasing or financing your vehicle.

    Also Check: Firestone Complete Auto Care Durham

    How To Get Discounts On Car Insurance In Tennessee

    There are a variety of auto insurance discounts available in Tennessee, but they will vary from agency to agency. If you’re changing insurance providers, see if they have a transition discount. Certain times, you could save money by moving to a better option. Our short read on car insurance discounts will help you to learn more.

    Cheapest Auto Insurance In Tennessee For 20

    Drivers with poor credit in Tennessee should look at the following insurers with the lowest average rates for minimum coverage:

  • Grange: $676 per year, or about $56 per month.

  • Tennessee Farm Bureau: $732 per year, or about $61 per month.

  • Travelers: $886 per year, or about $74 per month.

  • Geico: $1,099 per year, or about $92 per month.

  • Allstate: $1,127 per year, or about $94 per month.

  • You May Like: Car Rental In Salt Lake City Airport

    Similar Articles

    Most Popular